Fasten Your Chargers

After my battered Iphone 4 was stolen in broad daylight, I realized how deep my attachment was for a small, 2D screen. I sat at dinner with my friends, heatedly observing the college students scroll through their phones in complete silence. Finally, my annoyance could no longer be tamed. I attempted to swat my friend’s phone out of her hand, asking what in the world could be so alluring.

She peered at me through the upper edge of the gadget, refusing to fully remove her eyes from the screen and said, “Do you realize I haven’t found someone good to swipe right on in like, 20 minutes?”

I snorted in amusement, half for the fact that she was devoting so much time to Tinder. The other half of me was amazed that these apps have integrated themselves so fluidly in our lives, I knew exactly what the phrase “swipe right” meant.

The various social media platforms we use to creep, like, meet, chat, ect., have changed the way our century handles and views interpersonal relationships. The anonymity of social media has managed to allow us to pursue others with a level of confidence that is both concerning and incredibly comical. Much of this blog will focus on individuals not yet in their 30’s, as the newer generations are the largest population utilizing social media and technology. 

The loss of my ability to swipe right and snap story, marked the start of an ability to observe and illustrate the online social interactions that buzz around us 24/7. I’ve found myself motivated to stop blindly defending technology, and take a look at what studies and psychology have marked as the true downsides of technology. Comparison seems to always stand at the top of the list.

“If you had a phone you wouldn’t be saying that,” is what my friend artfully voiced to me, when I mentioned how happy I was to be rid of the consuming social apps.

Part of me shook my head at his words, convinced that I truly enjoyed embracing an outside perspective, uncommitted to a phone for the first time in eight years. However, another part of me wondered if my bank account allowed it, would I be sucked back into the vacuum leading to the digital world, just as consumed as I was prior to my phone being stolen?

Welcome to the technology takeover. Fasten your chargers, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

